Last updated October 18, 2026
Parkland Primary Residence Statistics 2026
In Parkland, 82.1% of the houses sold from October 2025 to September 2026 were the seller's primary residence; for condos and townhouses it was 55.3%. Of the buyers in 2025, 66.8% of house buyers and 61.9% of condo and townhouse buyers made the home their primary residence. Primary residence means a Florida homestead exemption recorded on the Broward County tax roll, a mandatory public record, not a box an agent may or may not tick in the listing. 7 of the 392 house buyers (1.8%) and 0 of the 42 condo and townhouse buyers (0.0%) had their tax bill mailed outside Florida. Houses and condos are never blended. Edition 2026-10-18, frozen, published daily.
Key takeaways
- Two of three Parkland house sellers were living in the house they sold; among condo and townhouse sellers it is fewer than one in two.
- Year to date 2026: houses 82.9% (381 sales) against 77.3% for all of 2025; condos and townhouses 61.5% (26 sales) against 61.9%.
- Across the complete years 2021 to 2025, the house-seller share rose 6.6 points and the condo and townhouse seller share rose 4.4 points.
- 7.1% of 2025 house buyers and 4.8% of condo and townhouse buyers took title as a company, trust or other entity; 1.8% and 0.0% have the tax bill mailed to another state.
Parkland, edition October 18, 2026
Houses Condos and townhouses County
Who is selling: were they living in the home?
Two of three Parkland house sellers were living in the house they sold; among condo and townhouse sellers it is fewer than one in two. In September 2026, 74.3% of the 35 houses that closed and not reported of the 2 condos and townhouses had a homestead exemption on the roll in force when the home was listed. Year to date 2026: houses 82.9% (381 sales) against 77.3% for all of 2025; condos and townhouses 61.5% (26 sales) against 61.9%. Across the complete years 2021 to 2025, the house-seller share rose 6.6 points and the condo and townhouse seller share rose 4.4 points. The monthly series moves inside a narrow band; a single month is a sample of 2 or more sales and should be read with the trailing twelve months beside it.
| Period | Houses sold | House sellers, primary residence | Condos/TH sold | Condo/TH sellers, primary residence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 594 | 70.7% | 73 | 57.5% |
| 2022 | 433 | 73.7% | 45 | 60.0% |
| 2023 | 425 | 75.3% | 33 | 54.5% |
| 2024 | 408 | 77.2% | 35 | 48.6% |
| 2025 | 392 | 77.3% | 42 | 61.9% |
| 2026 year to date | 381 | 82.9% | 26 | 61.5% |
| Trailing 12 months (October 2025 to September 2026) | 458 | 82.1% | 38 | 55.3% |
| Closing month | Houses sold | House sellers, primary residence | Condos/TH sold | Condo/TH sellers, primary residence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| October 2024 | 38 | 73.7% | 4 | not reported |
| November 2024 | 25 | 52.0%* | 3 | not reported |
| December 2024 | 27 | 74.1%* | 6 | not reported |
| January 2025 | 17 | 88.2%* | 5 | not reported |
| February 2025 | 29 | 65.5%* | 2 | not reported |
| March 2025 | 21 | 61.9%* | 7 | not reported |
| April 2025 | 42 | 85.7% | 1 | not reported |
| May 2025 | 37 | 78.4% | 4 | not reported |
| June 2025 | 41 | 78.0% | 2 | not reported |
| July 2025 | 41 | 82.9% | 1 | not reported |
| August 2025 | 50 | 70.0% | 4 | not reported |
| September 2025 | 23 | 78.3%* | 3 | not reported |
| October 2025 | 30 | 83.3% | 4 | not reported |
| November 2025 | 28 | 71.4%* | 3 | not reported |
| December 2025 | 33 | 81.8% | 6 | not reported |
| January 2026 | 24 | 87.5%* | 3 | not reported |
| February 2026 | 23 | 91.3%* | 3 | not reported |
| March 2026 | 28 | 96.4%* | 4 | not reported |
| April 2026 | 43 | 81.4% | 0 | not reported |
| May 2026 | 43 | 86.0% | 1 | not reported |
| June 2026 | 57 | 84.2% | 6 | not reported |
| July 2026 | 65 | 78.5% | 4 | not reported |
| August 2026 | 49 | 77.6% | 2 | not reported |
| September 2026 | 35 | 74.3% | 2 | not reported |
* fewer than 30 matched sales: read as direction, not precision. Shares are not reported under 10 sales.
Who is buying: did they move in?
About one house buyer in two and one condo or townhouse buyer in three makes the Parkland home their primary residence. The share is read on the first tax roll after the purchase, so it is the earliest possible reading and a floor: an owner who moved in late in the year, or who filed after the March 1 deadline, shows as non-primary until the following roll. 7.1% of 2025 house buyers and 4.8% of condo and townhouse buyers took title as a company, trust or other entity; 1.8% and 0.0% have the tax bill mailed to another state. Condos and townhouses draw the out-of-state and second-home buyer at roughly 0.0 times the rate houses do.
| Year bought | Houses | Primary residence | Owner mails outside Florida | LLC, trust or company | Condos/TH | Primary residence | Owner mails outside Florida | LLC, trust or company |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 569 | 78.4% | 1.8% | 3.2% | 44 | 45.5% | 9.1% | 18.2% |
| 2021 | 598 | 67.7% | 3.3% | 3.5% | 75 | 56.0% | 4.0% | 6.7% |
| 2022 | 436 | 65.4% | 6.0% | 9.2% | 45 | 46.7% | 6.7% | 15.6% |
| 2023 | 435 | 65.5% | 2.5% | 7.4% | 34 | 52.9% | 11.8% | 14.7% |
| 2024 | 423 | 66.7% | 2.1% | 5.4% | 35 | 42.9% | 8.6% | 11.4% |
| 2025 | 392 | 66.8% | 1.8% | 7.1% | 42 | 61.9% | 0.0% | 4.8% |
What this means if you are selling
The buyer for a Parkland house is, more often than not, a family who will live in it; the buyer for a condo is, more often than not, someone who will not. That changes how a listing should be priced and shown. A primary-residence buyer compares monthly payment, schools and commute and reads a comparative market analysis built on nearby closed sales; an out-of-state or second-home buyer compares your unit with the same floor plan in three other buildings and with what a rental would cost, and is quicker to walk when the association fee or the reserve study reads badly. The Parkland real estate statistics page carries the current price, inventory and price-cut figures for both markets; the Condo Cost and Liquidity Index carries the fee and time-to-sell picture that second-home buyers weigh.
Series
Editions are dated and frozen; the 2026-10-18 edition carries the seller series from 2021 (read on the 2020 roll, the earliest certified roll in the set) and the buyer series from 2020. The seller series is refreshed daily as closings post; the buyer series adds a year each summer when the Florida Department of Revenue certifies the new roll (the 2026 buyers become readable on the 2027 roll). Earlier editions never change. County context: Broward County market report; the daily indexes behind every city page are on the Housing Data Desk.
Method, source and download
- Sales: BeachesMLS closed sales in Parkland (listings permitted for internet display, delivered through Cotality Trestle, PBP connection 23039), joined by parcel number to the Florida Department of Revenue Name-Address-Legal (NAL) tax roll for Broward County. Rolls used: 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026. 60 of 3,575 closings since 2020 had no parcel match on the roll used for their year and are excluded.
- Primary residence: a homestead assessed value greater than zero on the roll (JV_HMSTD). Sellers are read on the roll of the year before the closing year (owner as of January 1 of that year). Buyers are read on the roll of the year after the closing year, the first roll on which the new owner could hold the exemption. Both readings avoid the Property Appraiser's practice of removing the exemption when a deed is processed, which makes the same-year roll unreliable for sold homes.
- Cross-check: 172 Parkland closings from July 2026 onward were read on both the 2025 and 2026 rolls; 94.2% agreed, the remainder being owners who gained or lost the exemption between the two rolls.
- Out-of-state: the owner mailing state on the roll is not Florida. Entity: the owner name on the roll contains LLC, Inc, Corp, LP, Ltd, Trust, Trustee, Holdings, Properties, Investments, Partners or Company.
- Property type follows the tax legal description: a condominium regime in the legal makes the property a condo whatever the MLS type; townhouses and villas are reported with condos. Houses are never blended with condos.
- Shares are reported only for groups of at least 10 matched sales and marked with * under 30. The current month is excluded until it is complete.
- Nothing here is an opinion of what any home is worth, a forecast, or a statement about any individual owner. Aggregates only.
- Download the aggregate table: 2026-10-18.csv (CSV, this edition) or the latest edition.
- Free to cite with attribution to "PBP Real Estate analysis of BeachesMLS closed sales and Florida Department of Revenue tax roll data" and a link to this page. Questions: info@pbpre.com or 561-395-8418.
Source: BeachesMLS closed sales in Parkland joined by parcel number to the Florida Department of Revenue Broward County tax rolls 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026. Edition October 18, 2026. PBP Real Estate analysis. Deemed reliable but not guaranteed.
Questions about primary residences, second homes and who buys in Parkland
How many Parkland home sellers were living in the home they sold?
Over the twelve months from October 2025 to September 2026, 82.1% of the 458 houses sold in Parkland through BeachesMLS were the seller's primary residence, measured by a homestead exemption on the Broward County tax roll in effect when the home was listed. For condos and townhouses it was 55.3% of 38. In September 2026 alone: houses 74.3% (35 sales), condos and townhouses not reported (2 sales).
How many Parkland buyers move in as their primary residence?
Of the houses bought in Parkland in 2025, 66.8% carried a homestead exemption on the 2026 tax roll, meaning the new owner filed to make it their primary residence. For condos and townhouses it was 61.9%. The rest are second homes, rentals, homes held by a company or trust, and owners who moved in but had not filed; the roll cannot tell those apart, so the buyer-side share is a floor.
How many Parkland buyers are from out of state?
1.8% of 2025 house buyers and 0.0% of condo and townhouse buyers had the tax bill mailed to an address outside Florida on the 2026 roll. A Florida mailing address does not prove residence; an out-of-state one is a fair sign the home is not the owner's primary residence.
What is a homestead exemption and why does it identify a primary residence?
Florida law lets an owner who holds title and lives in the home as a permanent residence on January 1 apply for a homestead exemption that lowers the assessed value for property tax. Only a primary residence qualifies, the county Property Appraiser checks the application, and the exemption is recorded on the certified tax roll the Florida Department of Revenue publishes each year. It is a mandatory, audited public record, unlike the optional tax checkbox in an MLS listing.
Why is the seller share so much higher than the buyer share?
Two reasons. Sellers are measured on a roll that already reflects years of ownership, while buyers are measured on the first roll after closing, so a buyer who moves in later or files late reads as non-primary. And some buyers cannot file: companies, trusts without the right language, and owners who are not permanent residents. In Parkland the gap in 2025 was 10.5 points for houses and 0.0 points for condos and townhouses. Read the buyer share as a floor, not a count of non-residents.
Has the share of Parkland sellers who lived in their home changed over time?
Across the complete years 2021 to 2025, the house-seller share rose 6.6 points and the condo and townhouse seller share rose 4.4 points, from 70.7% to 77.3% for houses and 57.5% to 61.9% for condos and townhouses. Each year is read on the Florida Department of Revenue roll of the year before the closing, so every year uses the same rule. The table above carries the count behind each share; years marked small should be read as direction.
Free to reuse with attribution and a link to PBP Real Estate. Figures, tables and charts on this page may be quoted, screenshotted or embedded. Keep the source line and link to www.pbprealestate.com/parkland-primary-residence-statistics/. Aggregates only: no address, listing number or listing-level record is published here.
For sellers
Pricing a home is a skill. Start with the current competition and recent closed sales.
58.9% of active single-family house listings in Parkland have a recorded asking price below their original list price.
The data comes from the segment and recorded fields available in PBP Real Estate's BeachesMLS feed, as of the date shown. Gia Freer, Broker of Record, turns comparable sales and current competition into one written pricing opinion for your home, with the reasoning, before it goes live.
No website estimate, no automated number: a written opinion of value prepared by hand, within one business day.
Request a pricing opinion for your property
Selling? Pricing correctly is a skill. Gia Freer prices your home from this data before it goes live.
Ask Ava about this dataPrice my home correctly