Last updated September 14, 2026

South Florida Condo Assessment Stress Index: listings that disclose assessments, inspections or reserve work

On September 14, 2026, 5.1% of the 25,225 condominiums for sale in Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, Martin and St. Lucie counties disclosed a special assessment, SIRS, milestone or 40/50-year inspection, concrete restoration or reserve funding in the listing remarks without stating that it was paid or complete. 9.4% mentioned one at all. In buildings finished before 1980 the unresolved share is 8.0%; in buildings from 2000 on it is 1.1%. Broward County reads highest of the three large counties at 6.2% and Palm Beach lowest at 3.0%. Highland Beach leads the city table at 16.5% of 103 condos for sale. The index counts what listing agents disclose, so every figure is a floor. Edition 2026-09-14, frozen, published monthly.

For sellers

Pricing a home is a skill. Start with the current competition and recent closed sales.

42.6% of active single-family houses listings in South Florida have a recorded asking price below their original list price.

The data comes from the segment and recorded fields available in PBP Real Estate's BeachesMLS feed, as of the date shown. Gia Freer, Broker of Record, turns comparable sales and current competition into one written pricing opinion for your home, with the reasoning, before it goes live.

No website estimate, no automated number: a comparative market analysis done by hand, within one business day.

42.6%Recorded below original
57.4%Not recorded as below originalMay include unchanged prices, increases and missing-price records; not a never-cut count.
14,909 single-family houses for sale in South Florida. Source: BeachesMLS, as of September 14, 2026. Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. Seller Blink Rate™ is the share of active listings with a recorded asking price below the original list price. The denominator is all active listings in the segment. The complement may include unchanged prices, increases and missing-price records; it does not establish a price history.

Request a pricing opinion for your property

Reviewed by Gia Freer, Broker of Record (Lic. BK689801). Reply within one business day. No automated estimate is published on this site.

How many condos for sale disclose assessment or inspection work, by county?

Broward County condos disclose unresolved assessment work most often among the three large countiesShare of active condo listings whose remarks mention assessment, inspection or reserve work (light) and the share where it is not stated as paid or complete (dark).Broward County condos disclose unresolved assessment work most often among the three large countiesShare of active condo listings whose remarks mention assessment, inspection or reserve work (light) and the share where it is not stated as paid or complete (dark).0%10%20%Palm Beach: 5.7% of 5,042 condos for sale mention assessment, inspection or reserve work6%MentionPalm Beach: 3.0% disclose it without saying it is paid or complete3%UnresolvedPalm BeachBroward: 12.3% of 8,892 condos for sale mention assessment, inspection or reserve work12%MentionBroward: 6.2% disclose it without saying it is paid or complete6%UnresolvedBrowardMiami-Dade: 8.8% of 10,662 condos for sale mention assessment, inspection or reserve work9%MentionMiami-Dade: 5.3% disclose it without saying it is paid or complete5%UnresolvedMiami-DadeMartin: 3.5% of 255 condos for sale mention assessment, inspection or reserve work4%MentionMartin: 2.4% disclose it without saying it is paid or complete2%UnresolvedMartinSt. Lucie: 8.3% of 374 condos for sale mention assessment, inspection or reserve work8%MentionSt. Lucie: 4.3% disclose it without saying it is paid or complete4%UnresolvedSt. LucieSource: BeachesMLS active condominium listings permitted for internet display, September 14, 2026. PBP Real Estate analysis. Condos only.Martin and St. Lucie samples are small; read as direction, not precision.

Broward County condo listings disclose unresolved assessment or inspection work at 6.2%, Palm Beach at 3.0%. Across the five counties 2,368 listings mention the subject and 1,084 of those (45.8%) say the assessment is paid, none is pending, the inspection passed or the reserves are funded; agents use the disclosure to reassure as often as to warn. The terms counted, with the number of listings using each: special assessment (1,127), 40- or 50-year recertification (1,028), concrete restoration (261), reserve study or funding (200), milestone inspection (176), SIRS (157). Martin and St. Lucie have 255 and 374 condos for sale, so their shares move on a handful of listings.

Condos for sale on September 14, 2026: assessment, inspection and reserve disclosures by county
CountyCondos for saleMentionShareUnresolvedSharePre-1980 unresolved2000+ unresolved
Palm Beach County5,0422885.7%1523.0%4.0%1.3%
Broward County8,8921,09712.3%5506.2%8.0%1.5%
Miami-Dade County10,6629438.8%5605.3%10.9%1.0%
Martin County25593.5%62.4%1.8%0.0%
St. Lucie County374318.3%164.3%9.0%1.2%
Five counties25,2252,3689.4%1,2845.1%8.0%1.1%

Which building ages disclose assessments most often?

Buildings finished before 1980 disclose unresolved assessment work 7 times as often as buildings from 2000 onShare of active condo listings by year built, five counties.Buildings finished before 1980 disclose unresolved assessment work 7 times as often as buildings from 2000 onShare of active condo listings by year built, five counties.0%10%20%Built before 1980: 14.4% of 11,243 mention14%Built before 1980: 8.0% unresolved8%before 1980Built 1980 to 1999: 8.6% of 6,303 mention9%Built 1980 to 1999: 4.7% unresolved5%1980 to 1999Built 2000 or later: 2.7% of 7,678 mention3%Built 2000 or later: 1.1% unresolved1%2000 or laterMentionUnresolvedSource: BeachesMLS active condominium listings permitted for internet display, September 14, 2026. PBP Real Estate analysis. Condos only.

Pre-1980 buildings account for 900 of the 1,284 unresolved disclosures, 70% of the total, from 45% of the listings with a recorded year built. The milestone inspection applies to buildings of three or more stories at 30 years, and the structural integrity reserve study to the same buildings, so the 1980 to 1999 band is entering the requirement now and the 2000 and later band is largely outside it. Year built is missing on 1 listings, which are counted in the totals and excluded from the bands.

Which cities have the most condo listings disclosing unresolved work?

Where condo listings most often disclose unresolved assessment or inspection workShare of active condo listings; cities with at least 30 condos for sale.Where condo listings most often disclose unresolved assessment or inspection workShare of active condo listings; cities with at least 30 condos for sale.0%10%20%30%Five-county rate 5%Highland Beach16% (17 of 103)16% (17 of 103)South Palm Beach15% (9 of 59)15% (9 of 59)Lighthouse Point13% (6 of 45)13% (6 of 45)North Miami12% (30 of 252)12% (30 of 252)Oakland Park11% (19 of 172)11% (19 of 172)Plantation10% (23 of 221)10% (23 of 221)Hollywood10% (104 of 1005)10% (104 of 1005)Hillsboro Beach10% (6 of 61)10% (6 of 61)Hialeah10% (26 of 268)10% (26 of 268)Jensen Beach10% (6 of 62)10% (6 of 62)Miami Beach9% (150 of 1622)9% (150 of 1622)Hallandale Beach8% (82 of 966)8% (82 of 966)Wilton Manors8% (4 of 49)8% (4 of 49)Lauderdale By The Sea8% (8 of 99)8% (8 of 99)Pompano Beach8% (62 of 779)8% (62 of 779)Source: BeachesMLS active condominium listings permitted for internet display, September 14, 2026. PBP Real Estate analysis. Condos only.

Highland Beach leads at 16.5% (17 of 103 condos for sale); its pre-1980 stock reads 20.0%. The table shows the count behind every share so a small sample is visible. Cities with fewer than 30 condos for sale are in the county totals but not listed.

Cities with the highest share of condo listings disclosing unresolved assessment or inspection work (at least 30 condos for sale)
CityCountyCondos for saleMentionUnresolvedSharePre-1980 unresolved
Highland BeachPalm Beach10326.2%1716.5%20.0%
South Palm BeachPalm Beach5918.6%915.3%13.3%
Lighthouse PointBroward4522.2%613.3%13.3%
North MiamiMiami-Dade25217.5%3011.9%12.4%
Oakland ParkBroward17215.1%1911.0%10.0%
PlantationBroward22117.2%2310.4%12.2%
HollywoodBroward1,00516.3%10410.3%14.0%
Hillsboro BeachBroward6114.8%69.8%14.3%
HialeahMiami-Dade26815.3%269.7%18.0%
Jensen BeachSt. Lucie6219.4%69.7%n/a
Miami BeachMiami-Dade1,62215.2%1509.2%13.3%
Hallandale BeachBroward96617.3%828.5%10.1%
Wilton ManorsBroward4928.6%48.2%9.5%
Lauderdale By The SeaBroward9920.2%88.1%8.3%
Pompano BeachBroward77918.4%628.0%9.3%
Bay Harbor IslandsMiami-Dade14112.8%117.8%20.8%
Singer IslandPalm Beach11515.7%97.8%6.8%
Palm BeachPalm Beach13312.0%107.5%6.5%
Fort LauderdaleBroward1,32213.2%927.0%10.2%
DavieBroward18714.4%137.0%8.6%

Do condos that disclose an assessment ask less or sit longer?

Five counties, September 14, 2026: condos whose remarks mention assessment or inspection work against those that do not
MeasureMentionNo mention
Listings2,36822,857
Median asking price$299,250$329,900
Median cumulative days on market91 days94 days
Share that has cut the asking price45.2%41.5%

Listings that mention assessment or inspection work have a median asking price of $299,250 against $329,900 for those that do not, and have been on the market 91 days against 94 days. Read these as market-wide medians across different buildings, ages and unit sizes: older buildings are cheaper and disclose more, so the gap is mostly the age mix. The Boca Raton Condo Cost and Liquidity Index follows fees, time to sell and supply for one city in more depth, and the South Florida Condo Fee Index carries the fee level by city.

What this means if you are selling a condo

Buyers' agents read the remarks before they book the showing, and a buyer who finds the assessment in the estoppel letter after finding nothing in the listing walks. In this edition almost half the agents who mention an assessment do it to say it is paid or the inspection passed. If your building has completed its milestone inspection, funded its reserves or the assessment is paid, say so in the first three lines; it is the one fact that separates your unit from the 5.1% that leave the question open. If the assessment is pending, the price has to carry it, and how much depends on the building's letter, the payment schedule and what comparable units in the same building have closed at, which is a conversation with a person, not a website. How PBP prices a condo listing.

Series

This is the first edition, dated September 14, 2026. A new edition is published monthly from that day's snapshot; earlier editions never change, and from the second edition the page shows the change in each share. PBP's daily listing archive began September 5, 2026, so a same-day comparison to earlier dates is not available and none is claimed.

Method, source and download

  • Universe: active condominium listings permitted for internet display in BeachesMLS on September 14, 2026 in the five counties. Property type follows the tax legal description: a condominium regime in the legal makes the property a condo whatever the MLS type. Townhouses, villas and houses are not in the index.
  • Mention: the public remarks match at least one of six term groups: special assessment (or an assessment stated as due, pending, approved or with an amount); SIRS or structural integrity reserve; milestone inspection; 40- or 50-year recertification; concrete restoration; reserve study or reserve funding.
  • Unresolved: a mention whose remarks do not also say the assessment is paid, prepaid or seller-paid, that there is no pending assessment, that the inspection or recertification is complete or passed, or that reserves are fully funded. Wording is agents' own; the classifier reads it literally, so a sentence such as "assessment paid through 2027" is resolved and "assessment in place" is unresolved.
  • Bands use the MLS year built: before 1980, 1980 to 1999, 2000 and later. Shares are shown only for groups of at least 30 listings; medians only where each side has at least 10.
  • Nothing here is an assessment amount, a reserve balance, an insurance figure, a building safety judgment or an opinion of what any unit is worth. No building, association or listing is named.
  • Download the aggregate table: 2026-09-14.csv (CSV, this edition) or the latest edition. Listing-level records are MLS data and are not redistributed.
  • Free to cite with attribution to "PBP Real Estate Condo Assessment Stress Index, BeachesMLS listing data" and a link to this page. Questions: info@pbpre.com.

Source: PBP Real Estate analysis of BeachesMLS condominium listings permitted for internet display; active snapshot 2026-09-14. Remarks are written by listing agents; the index counts what they disclose, a floor, not an association ledger. Deemed reliable but not guaranteed.

Questions about the Condo Assessment Stress Index

How many South Florida condos for sale disclose a special assessment or inspection?

On September 14, 2026, 2,368 of the 25,225 condominiums for sale in Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, Martin and St. Lucie counties (9.4%) mentioned a special assessment, SIRS, milestone inspection, 40- or 50-year recertification, concrete restoration or reserve funding in the listing remarks. 1,284 (5.1%) did so without stating that the work was complete, the assessment paid or the reserves funded.

What is the Condo Assessment Stress Index?

It is the share of active condominium listings whose public remarks disclose assessment, inspection or reserve work tied to Florida's condo-safety laws (the 2022 and 2023 statutes commonly called SB 4-D and SB 154, amended in 2024). The index reads what listing agents write, so it is a floor: an association can have an assessment that no listing mentions. It reports two tiers, any mention and unresolved mention, by county, city and year built.

Which buildings disclose assessments most often?

Buildings finished before 1980. 8.0% of condo listings in pre-1980 buildings disclose unresolved work, against 4.7% for 1980 to 1999 and 1.1% for 2000 or later. Milestone inspections apply to buildings three stories or taller once they reach 30 years, which is why the age bands separate so sharply.

Do condos that disclose an assessment ask less?

In this edition the median asking price of a condo whose remarks mention assessment or inspection work is $299,250, against $329,900 for condos that do not (-9.3%). Flagged listings have been on the market a median 91 days against 94 days, and 45.2% of them have cut the asking price against 41.5%. These are market-wide medians across different buildings and unit sizes, not a measure of what any assessment does to one unit's price.

Does the index name buildings?

No. It reports counties and cities with at least 30 condos for sale. It does not name buildings, associations, addresses or listings, and it does not estimate assessment amounts, reserve balances or insurance premiums; none of those are fields in the MLS feed.

Can I cite these figures?

Yes. The 2026-09-14 edition is frozen; the figures on this page and in the downloadable table do not change. Cite as "PBP Real Estate Condo Assessment Stress Index, BeachesMLS listing data" with a link to this page. A new edition is published monthly, with the change from the prior edition shown from the second edition on.